Lying in bed in terrible pain in the middle of the night makes for some interesting time to think. Yesterday, I ran out of interesting things to think about. There was still more time to stare at the ceiling, so I started thinking about animals, especially animals that I like.

I’m very fond of Eeyore. In fact, I’m planning on redecorating my room as a vintage library in sophisticated Eeyore style. (I think that means vintage stuff in Eeyore’s colors, but we shall see.) For my college graduation, my dad gave me a small plush Eeyore. He had seen it in the grocery store check-out line months before, and it reminded him of me. I thought that it was very special, but some other family members felt that it was simply too small and not cute enough. So they went to the Disney Store and purchased a regular-sized stuffed Eeyore for my birthday (which happened to be three days later).

Particularly in times of great pain or depression, Eeyore’s always been there for me. He’s been there when no one else has been: those lonely days when I’m stuck in bed and those scary moments when everything seems fleeting. In return, I’ve taken him all over the country to towns big and small. He’s traveled by bus, by train, by car, by air, and more! He’s even been to the sleep clinic with me although I haven’t taken him with me to any doctor’s or counseling appointments (yet).

The one thing I really like about Eeyore is that he has really long ears. I always told my sisters that his long ears mean that he can listen to me; he really knows my heart. My sisters (both younger) like to make fun of my stuffed animal since I’m the only one who still has one, so, in typical Abigail fashion, I turned it all into a parody:

Eeyore loves me, this I know.
For he often tells me so.
Little ones to him belong.
They are weak but he is strong.

Thinking about it as I was lying in bed, it reminded me of my need for quality time with the people I know. The way I characterize my friendship with this stuffed animals is articulated in the same vocabulary: he’s patient, he spends time with me, and he knows me.

With that framework in mind, it’s not surprising that my favorite kind of dog is the bassett hound, also known for long ears. I had forgotten about this bunny on my Amazon wishlist, but he also has long ears. And, it’s probably not surprising that I don’t really like pets or live animals of any kind. I’ve gotten to the point where I can feel a sense of accomplishment if I can walk within five feet of a dog on a leash! Somehow live animals are really less interested in me as a person.

I’ll leave you with a beautiful story of a young pediatrician who takes the time to meet a little boy on his level, and in so doing, performs a physical exam on a teddy bear.

with love,
Abigail Cashelle

6 thoughts on “On Furry Friends

Thoughts?

