For me, writing is cathartic. It’s quiet. It’s independent. I can write in the middle of a crowded theater, escaping into a world of my own creation and blurring out all the chaos around me. I can write about the world in the way I see it. Writing gives me a voice even when there is no audience.

I started writing about my health because I needed a space where I could talk about my struggles and the hardships of life with a chronic disease (or two.) Even my best friends can get tired of hearing about the same thing day in and day out; just because it’s part of my daily routine doesn’t mean they’ll ever be that interested.

Only very recently have I begun to publish my pieces publicly. As I’ve matured, I’ve met people with similar stories and similar experiences. I’ve learned how much we can learn from one another and how important it is to be part of a community.

I write for my own healing. And, I write for others. For those who can be encouraged or see a glimpse of hope through my life. I share my experience with you.

with love,
Abigail Cashelle

Thoughts?

