Life has continued to be crazy for me. My symptoms seem all out of control, and I feel like I’m drowning in a sea of expectations and tasks. And being sick? It’s tiresome.

But throughout this week, I’ve had little glimpses of love from the amazing people God’s placed in my life. And I know, deep down inside, that I personally matter and that the real world really is beautiful. Here’s what I see:

– a card tucked into my work mailbox. It says, “Get better NOW because getting better soon is too vague.” My classmate had written a little note to say that she hoped that my fatigue was reading the card because it was the only thing in the way. It was SO sweet that someone was thinking about me enough to buy me a card and also to point out that, yes, there are things in my life that aren’t really in my control.

– a professor postponing my independent study meeting because she was invited to an important meeting, thus giving me an extra 48 hours to prepare for said class

vespers with a whole new group of people who were more than willing to have a seventh person and who weren’t afraid of being human and admitting their shortcomings. They didn’t ask me for credentials. They didn’t need to know why I was there. I was there, so I became one of them.

– a friend who dropped everything to come spend the night with me when she found out that I wasn’t asleep 2 hours after my bedtime because I was panicking because I was in so much pain

– a church elder who took time out of his schedule to meet with me to talk about some things (and people) that had been bothering me and that I was too tired to deal with on my own

– a whole classroom of students cheering when I wrote on the board “papers: now due on Monday” (instead of Friday). My voice is not loud enough to carry in a room that seats 400, so I figured writing it was much simpler. What I didn’t expect was a whole classroom of college students thanking me for making their lives so much better.

– the fact that it’s only Wednesday afternoon & I still have half the week left!!

with gratitude,
Abigail Cashelle

2 thoughts on “Loved…

  1. Thank you for sharing your powerful story with all of us Abigail! You are a beautiful writer and I look forward to reading more of your journey. You are in my thoughts and prayers!

Thoughts?

