Things have been crazy and really stressful. It’s the middle of finals for me, which means that I’ve been grading exams and studying for my own final plus finishing up assignments. I’ve been battling a vicious antibiotic and my body is exhausted. So in the middle of all the insanity, I just took the day off. I cleaned a little, I saw Dr. Harold, I talked to Dr. Leo on the phone, I mailed a letter, I returned an item, I put away laundry and I warmed up leftovers to eat. Then I slept a lot. And I paged through the newest addition to my collection of old hymnals.

I study history, and I love books. I decided a long time ago that since I like music and I love hymns, the one thing that I was going to collect was old hymnals. I’m fairly young, and I know I’ll have to move a lot. I don’t want to have to lug around tons of stuff. So I just picked one collection: hymnals. I’m up to 16 unique books!!

Playing through some of the hymns on my violin, I was really struck by this one. I couldn’t figure it out on my own, so I found a video recording and enjoyed singing through it. The harmony is lovely. Singing it put my soul at rest.

Rested physically and psychologically,

Abigail Cashelle

Thoughts?

