Lying in bed last night, I realized something. I like things to happen quickly. I’m content to wait, and I’m willing to exercise my fair share of patience. But I realized that the God who is my Father is not only patient. He’s steadfast, He’s enduring, and He’s long-suffering. He is so much more than patient.


Steadfast: stable, firmly fixed, unchanging.
…He steadfastly set His face to go up to Jerusalem. Luke 9:51


Enduring: remaining in existence for a long time, often through trial
Looking away unto Jesus… who for the joy set before Him endured the cross, despising the shame…. Hebrews 12:2
…The grass witherith, and the flower thereof falleth away: But the word of the Lord endureth forever…. 1 Peter 1: 24-25, quoting Psalm 102:11-12


Long-suffering: bearing provocations for a long time, patiently enduring lasting difficulties and hardship
The Lord… is long-suffering toward you, not intending that any perish but that all advance to repentance. 2 Peter 3:9
…the long-suffering of God waited int he days of Noah, while the ark was being prepared…; 1 Peter 3:20


I stand in awe of the Father I have. I’m realizing that it’s not just His love that endures forever or that of His days there is no end. He is the definition of steadfastness, endurance, and long-suffering.

Humbled,
Abigail

One thought on “Steadfast, Enduring, Long-Suffering

  1. Amen. I very much appreciate being reminded of this. I can be patient too, but I want things to happen so fast. And they don’t. A lot of times I need to step back and take a moment to reflect and remember, this isn’t how things are – – His way is perfect. He’s steadfast, enduring and long-suffering – – this is HIS way. His way is the absolute best.

Thoughts?

