One Scriptural passage has been echoing in my heart all week:

Not that I have already obtained or have already been perfected, but I pursue… Brothers, I do not account myself to have laid hold: but one thing I do: Forgetting the things that are behind and stretching forward to the things that are before, I pursue toward the goal for which God in Christ Jesus has called me upward. Let us therefore, as many as are full-grown, have this mind; and if in anything you are otherwise minded, this also will God reveal to you. Philippians 3:12-15

In all the things that I’ve faced this week and all the people I’ve interacted with, these verses kept rising within my being. I realized that so often, I act as if I’ve mastered a certain body of knowledge or know the perfect way one ought to conduct himself. Even as I read others’ stories and study, my attitude sometimes is one of a person seeking validation and justification from others’ standards.

But this attitude is not helpful. It’s not helpful for me to grow, to face the challenges in front of me. It’s certainly not helping making me a pleasant and natural member of a group, unless the group is mesmerized by my every word.

My new prayer is, Lord, grant me such a spirit as Paul had. Save me from my own sense of superiority. Open my heart to new knowledge and directions, to different people. Keep me actively seeking You in each step I take.

~Abigail

Thoughts?

