This blog is an amazing space for me to write about my life and about what’s happening. There are a few readers here who know me in real life and read this blog to keep up-to-date on my situation. Frankly, this blog has helped me quite a few times keep track of when I talked to Dr. Leo about something or why I took a week off school.

Yet primarily this blog is a space for me, Abigail. It’s a place where I can reflect on the things that are happening in my life. It’s a place where I can express profound gratitude for people around me, particularly when I can’t tell them so directly. It’s a space for me to document what I’m learning on this journey of chronic illness. It’s a place for me to laugh about the ridiculous things that happen to a patient stuck in the medical world. Sometimes, it becomes a safe space to grieve.

That’s how I decide what to write about for the blog. I think about what I might be comfortable with a person like Timothy reading; so occasionally there are things that are far too personal or gross to share. I frequently write about things as they develop, which means that you can catch a glimpse at how friendships grow and how complicated medical treatment can become. And I aim to write about the positive: unexpected friendships, beautiful conversations, lovely verses, sweet experiences. Every now and then, I grieve in public because it’s healing to articulate what has been lost and what might have been.

Abigail

Thoughts?

