I find it very easy to get caught up with lots of things. Even if I spend half the day in bed, it seems that my mind is completely occupied. After all, I’m a full-time student. A full-time patient. A daughter. A friend. A teacher. A roommate. A hostess. The list could go on forever.

My to-do list can be overwhelming even to the ordinary person. Then, when you take into account that sometimes I only have the energy to get out of bed, change into a different set of pajamas, and then get back into bed, it can be a true farce.

Over the years, I’ve learned that a key to keeping my own sanity is to take time for myself. If I actually schedule me-time, I’m actually healthier, happier, and more productive.

Sometimes I craft. Sometimes I play music. Sometimes I pray. Sometimes I reflect. It’s not the activity so much as putting myself on the list of people and things that are important in life.


These prayers found in The Book of Common Prayer have been helpful for some of those quiet times, especially when I don’t know how to pray or what to say any more.

O God, the source of all health: So fill my heart with faith in Your love, that with calm expectancy I may make room for Your power to possess me, and gracefully accept Your healing; through Jesus Christ our Lord. Amen.

Lord Jesus Christ, by Your patience in suffering You hallowed earthly pain and gave us the example of obedience to Your Father’s will: Be near me in my time of weakness and pain; sustain me by Your grace, that my strength and courage may not fail; heal me according to Your will; and help me always to believe that what happens to me here is of little account if You hold me in eternal life, my Lord and my God. Amen.

O Father of mercies and God of all comfort, our only help in time of need: We humbly beseech Thee to behold, visit, and relieve Thy sick servant — for whom our prayers are desired. Look upon him with the eyes of Thy mercy; comfort him with a sense of Thy goodness; preserve him from the temptations of the enemy; and give him patience under his affliction. In Thy good time, restore him to health, and enable him to lead the residue of his life in Thy fear, and to Thy glory; and grant that finally he may dwell with Thee in life everlasting; through Jesus Christ our Lord. Amen.

Abigail Cashelle

One thought on “Taking Time for Myself

  1. Something I really valued from my time at an anglican church was the prayers; they are so well thought through to capture exactly what needs to be said in so many situations, they really are a blessing of help, especially when you don’t have the words to pray any more.

Thoughts?

