I made a doctor’s day yesterday.

This year, I did something I’ve never done before. I gave out Christmas cards. I mailed them to friends and family, to people like Walt & Nora and Timothy & Grace.

And, I wrote some for my doctors. Nothing fancy. Nothing sophisticated. I just wanted to express how much I appreciate their care for me, especially for Dr. Leo & Dr. Samuel who have gone far beyond the call of duty to help me this year. I wrote something to this effect:

Just a quick note to say how much I appreciate your care for me. This past year has been difficult in many ways, but I feel so blessed to have people like you who listen and help me navigate the medical world. I hope this season is a time of joy and renewal for you. Merry Christmas. — Abigail

Like I said, nothing fancy. Just a heartfelt thank you. Because I really do feel that way.

something like this but with mittens instead of a fire

Yesterday. Dr. Samuel’s office. He had asked me to come in early. At the end of a very informative and helpful session, I pulled the card out of my purse and said, “This is for you.”

His whole face lit up. He said to the other doctor who had sat in on the appointment, “I love holiday cards. I’m going to put them up around my office.” Then he opened the envelope and showed her the pretty design on the front. “I love it! It’s so nice… with mittens.” He did open the card and see that there was writing inside. But mostly he kept holding it, looking at it, looking at me, and smiling a big smile. “Thank you. Thank you so much. Thank you so much for this.”

It made me so happy. There’s a special joy that only comes from making someone else’s day. I love that feeling in my heart. I’m so glad that I can give a little back to the people like Dr. Samuel who have given so much to me.

Rejoicing,

Abigail

One thought on “Thank You, Thank You

Thoughts?

