There was a day last week when I did not get out of bed until 3:30 p.m. This is bad news for Abigail. Especially for the stacks of books piling up for me to read. Nor does it bode well for the amorphous blob. (Nor for a lot of other things for that matter.)

Anyhow, there was a day I did not get out of bed until 3:30 p.m. And I was supposed to be at Diana’s apartment at 5 pm for a knit/crochet movie night. Seeing as how I couldn’t just roll out of bed into her apartment, I figured by 3:30 p.m. I ought to get out of bed if I still wanted to go.

When I got to Diana’s at 5:30 p.m., we were comparing notes on what each person had done that day. I said that I had done nothing. Because I didn’t get out of bed until 3:30. Well, that is, I got out of bed for both breakfast and lunch and then went back to bed. I also finished running the three loads of laundry I had started the night before. Oh, and I actually cooked lunch. And I graded 10-12 papers while I was eating lunch. I’m pretty sure I also put away some books that were in the middle of the floor because I kept tripping on them on my way back to bed.

This was Diana’s response: For a person who spent the whole day in bed, you certainly found a way to get a lot done! I think you’re one of the best skilled people in being productive while spending all day in bed.

Yes, it’s true. I have a lot of practice. And I know that laundry won’t do itself. But as long as the clothes are clean, they can still be worn even if they’re in a gigantic pile on the floor. Which means that I do laundry, I just hardly ever have the energy to put it away. Things like that: I know how to get stuff done that absolutely needs to get done…. And apparently, I know how to do that from bed.

I never realized that that was a skill. I never give myself credit for anything when I lie in bed all day. Maybe I should start. Because that’s a pretty impressive list of things accomplished on a day when “nothing happened”.

So fortunate to have friends with perspective,
Abigail

Thoughts?

