and I’m think I’m still too upset/stressed/mad/infuriated to trust myself to describe my proposal defense in words. So let me share with you some images:

Grad School the Board Game
I landed on “meet with thesis committee”

Clarity and Depth
well, someone (or maybe someones) actually said the “lacked clarity and depth” part…. unfortunately, their response did the same

To add insult to injury, my thesis title was “so terrible” that one committee member wasn’t sure he could even read the proposal.

your thesis title
Unless you follow this advice, you will be crushed. No one will read your dissertation proposal… or buy your book down the road (which you’re already marketing, right?) That’s what happens when your title is in English, has only 10 words, and includes no subtitle.

I think I might need Jen after all

The verdict: I have six weeks to resubmit and defend again.
My plan of action? Get somebody to actually teach me what it is I’m supposed to be doing. Fire the ravenous lion and hire an adviser. Potentially redefend (instead of dropping out of grad school in frustration.)

Yup, the tension in my life only increases.

Abigail

One thought on “the Ravenous Lion has spoken

  1. Hey to an inspiring blogger! Just wanted to let you know that I’ve nominated you for the ‘Very Inspiring Blogger Award;! I wanted to to let you know how much I love your blog. There are a few stages to the acceptance stage, however, I do not want you to feel obligated to do so as often health gets in the way which I totally understand. However, if you do want to accept, the details can be found here:

    http://brainlesionandme.wordpress.com/2013/03/27/pleased-to-announce/

    Congrats! x

Thoughts?

