I have a new pet peeve. It might have something to do with the fact that a lot of things are going on in my life right now. And I feel like I have no control over them. It might also have to do with the fact that this is supposed to be a period of healing and things are actually {gasp} getting worse!!

I (sometimes) have the patience of a saint, but when things get really hard, it seems that people say more and more unhelpful things and it gets harder and harder to just smile and nod.

Here are some of the trite comments I’ve already heard:

  • Have you tried _____? Because it helped my neighbor’s godfather’s cousin’s dog’s sister’s owner’s mother. (Ummm, okay.)
  • Your life seems really exciting. (Actually I wish it was boring.)
  • Have you thought about writing a book? (Yes, and I would rather my life be boring.)
  • Maybe you need to stop sleeping and start doing things. (Ummmm, yeah, that’s how I got here.)
  • Have you considered volunteering? For example, if you walked someone’s dog every day, you might feel better. (Ummmm, no.)
  • Maybe you’re bored. (Yes, because there is nothing I’d rather do than be sick.)
  • Do you go out looking for trouble? (No. I have too much of it as it is.)
  • Can you please tell me what your plan is? Or when you’re moving? Or what it is you want to do with my life? (How about I introduce you to my grandchildren? I think that might be easier.)
  • You just need to get along with people. (Ummm, doesn’t that take two people? I mean, if it takes two people to have an argument, it ought to take two people to have cooperation.)

Sigh. Hopefully, things will be looking up soon.

Abigail

4 thoughts on “it helped my neighbor’s godfather’s cousin’s dog’s sister’s owner’s mother (and other trite comments)

  1. “and he that searches the hearts knows what is the mind of the Spirit, because he makes intercession for the saints according to the will of God.” (Romans 8:27)
    Praying for you.

  2. 😦 I totally get the bit about wishing life were more boring. And when I ask what your current plan is, that’s exactly what I mean…I want to know what your thoughts at that very moment are. I do realize that plans/thoughts/ideas/hopes can change at the speed of light, but if I know what you’re thinking right now, at least I have a direction to pray for you.

Thoughts?

