photograph on Flickr by Leo Reynolds
Bookstack by Fred Watson
I’ve decided to mark a new season in my life by forming the “Chronic Patient Book Club”. I’ve demonstrated (at least to the ravenous lion, et al) that I’m perfectly capable of reading 50 books in one semester. That means, I should be perfectly capable of reading 50 books on or about being a chronic patient within a year.

I learn primarily through reading (in case you haven’t figured that out.) I’ve read a lot of books about living with a chronic condition, being a physician/nurse/caretaker for a chronic sufferer, and how to be a friend to those in need. Some of them are good, some of them are very narrow; some of them are interesting, some of them are as thick as molasses. This is an opportunity for me to continue to hone by book reviewing skills while also staying accountable and sharing what I learn with you.

I know that many people don’t have the time or energy to read 50 books in one year, let alone find them all. But the fact of the matter is that I’m building quite a collection. And I have opinions on most of them.

So I’m starting the “Chronic Patient Book Club”. Every week, I’ll read a book, and on Thursday, I’ll post a review of it on my blog. I’ll give you a summary of the topics covered in the books, who wrote the book, what I learned from the book, and what audience I think this book makes sense for. Hopefully, I’ll learn a lot more about living with a chronic condition and how to help my friends to help me to live well with it. At the same time, I hope that you’ll find it beneficial at least as an armchair participant.

If you have suggestions of books that you think I ought to read or ought to be on the lookout for, I’ve created a form for you to suggest books. Keep in mind that you can always contact me at abigail.cashelle :at: gmail.com as well.

Must get reading,
Abigail

P.S. I hope to have a list of anticipated books up soon. Keep your eyes open for that!

3 thoughts on “Chronic Patient Book Club announcement

  1. Sweet, I think this is a great idea! I’d love to see what you make of a whole range of books, especially the ones you’re always recommended on thinking yourself better tbh, since that’s what everyone throws around. It would be nice to see some solid reviews on them. If you ever need a stand in I would be willing to try🙂

Thoughts?

